Isadora Guru Session #19: Body Tracking with the Rokoko Smartsuit Pro™


  • Want to bring high-quality, markerless motion capture data into Isadora? Then next week's guru session is for you! Please join us on Thursday January 14th at 6pm CEST (5pm UK / 12pm EST / 9am PST) for Guru Session #19: Body Tracking with the Rokoko Smartsuit Pro™. 

    Yours truly will show you how to link the Smartsuit Pro™ to the real-time media generation and modulation features in Isadora, and also discuss what makes Rokoko's system different from other mocap solutions. Click the link to watch on Jan. 14th!

    Hope t see you there.

    Best Wishes,
    Mark


  • Here's the files you need for today's Guru Session:

    Click to download Guru19.zip

    See you in a bit!

    -- Mark


  • @mark

    First of all thnx for a great session! I am very interested in Rokoko although to me the most obvious disadvantage is the perfomative aspect in the sense that if you use it live well... the performer must actually be wearing a whole piece of clothing that is not necessarily great to look at or easily modified for the stage. 

    Having said that, do you know if there is a way to broadcast the data from the suit to Isadora over the internet, not just a local wifi network? Is it possible - in theory at least - to have a performer wear the suit and run Rokoko studio on his computer and then get that data on Isadora on my computer? 

    all the best, 

    c. 


    p.s. could the same effect by replicated by wearing lillypad arduinos or sth of that sort, would they be able to communicate with Izzy?


  • @the_navigator I have done this over WAN, sent this to Mark the night after the demo:

    https://drive.google.com/file/...

  • Beta Tester

    @liminal_andy that is so cool . We hoping to get some rokoko suits in the next couple of months and this is exactly the type of thing I had in mind for our performers. Amazing work !


  • @n-jones said:

    <p>@liminal_andy that is so cool . We hoping to get some rokoko suits in the next couple of months and this is exactly the type of thing I had in mind for our performers. Amazing work !</p>

     Thanks! We're going to be re-imagining our approach to StreamWeaver Lite (currently it has a retail presence but is mainly EaaS in terms of who is really using it). Hope to provide something friendly soon.


  • @liminal_andy

    very very impressivw I got to say... yap, endless possibilities there :)


  • @the_navigator said:

    <p>@liminal_andy</p><p>very very impressivw I got to say... yap, endless possibilities there :)</p>

     Thanks! The secret to why this works is SRT. By ensuring that lost packets are retransmitted and inserted back in order, I can reliably transport a data stream without jitter. This is why the lighting controls can work reliably; dropping some packets does not result in missing DMX frames.